Skip to content

In the News

18 November 2011


WTO appoints two new Appellate Body members

The WTO Dispute Settlement Body (DSB) appointed on 18 November 2011 the following two new members to the seven-member Appellate Body: Messrs Ujal Singh Bhatia of India and Thomas R. Graham of the United States for four years commencing on 11 December 2011.

Team from National Centre for Biological Sciences–TIFR, Bangalore, India picks up a top award at International Genetically Engineered Machines competition at MIT.

Rohit Singhal

Intel, in collaboration with the Indo-Us Science and Technology Forum and the Department of Science and Technology of the Government of India, organized an innovative technology business plan competition for students from all educational institutions in India, called the DST-Intel India Innovation Pioneers Challenge 2006-07. The Team Sparsha Systems from IIT Kharagpur, with the Product Sanyog, consisting of Rohit Singhal and Soumyajit Dey, won the First prize. The winners were felicitated by Shri Kapil Sibal, Union Minister for Science, Technology and Earth Sciences, on July 20, 2007 at New Delhi, and were awarded a prize cheque for Rs. 3 Lakh, along with the unique opportunity to represent India at the Intel - University of California Berkeley Technology Entrepreneurship Challenge 2007, to be held in November, at Berkeley, USA.


Astad Deboo

Astad Deboo, who graduated from Loyola in the 1964, has been awarded the Padma Shri by Government of India. In all this year, 121 Padma awards were announced, including 10 Padma Vibhushan, 32 Padma Bhushan and 79 Padma Shri awards.


While the Padma Awards list mentions him from Maharashtra, he still has close links with Jamshedpur. Desite his busy schedule, he has often participated in our School and Alumni functions. Last he was here during the JAAI National Congress in October, 2004. Besides, his elder sister still lives in Jamshedpur.

A student of Loyola School, Jamshedpur, Banaras Hindu University and Imperial College, this fellowship completes a unique trio. Dr Chatterjee was honoured as one of the outstanding students of Loyola school during its centenary in 1997. He was also chosen for the Distinguished Alumnus of the Department of Metallurgy, Banaras Hindu University in 1996. The late Mr Sumant Moolgaokar and Tata International’s present chairman Mr Shymal Gupta (both alumni of Imperial College) are amongst of the few from India chosen earlier for this fellowship. Full article.